L'institut Shastri

English | Français
Facebook

Histoire

L’Institut Shastri a participé à la mise en place de compréhension, de respect et de bonne volonté entre nos deux grands pays ces quarante dernières années.
L’idée de mettre sur pied un Institut pour promouvoir les activités universitaires entre l’Inde et le Canada est d’abord venue de Michael Brecher, professeur de sciences politiques à l’Université McGill. En 1966, M. Brecher a présenté de façon informelle l’idée au ministre des Finances de l’Inde en visite T. T. Krishnamachari qui a immédiatement répondu qu’il s’agissait d’une « idée splendide ». En 1967, une annonce conjointe du gouvernement du Canada et du gouvernement de l’Inde a donné naissance à l’Institut indo-canadien Shastri.

Au départ, notre objectif était d’encourager l’enseignement et la recherche canadienne sur l’Inde au niveau universitaire. En mettant l’accent sur les sciences sociales, nos programmes ont financé des bourses et ont permis de distribuer des livres et des revues indiennes dans les bibliothèques de nos établissements membres canadiens. L’intérêt grandissant pour les études indiennes chez les universitaires canadiens a mené à un intérêt réciproque envers le Canada chez les universitaires de l’Inde. Au début des années 1980, nous avons commencé à promouvoir les études canadiennes en Inde. Plus récemment, nos activités se sont élargies et ont atteint le champ des études en développement durable.

Aujourd’hui, l’Institut indo-canadien Shastri a des bureaux au Canada et en Inde. Notre bureau du Canada est situé à l’Université de Calgary, et nous est fourni sans frais par le Conseil des gouverneurs de l’Université. Notre bureau en Inde est situé au centre de New Delhi et a été construit grâce à des fonds du gouvernement du Canada sur un terrain fourni par le gouvernement de l’Inde.

Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute

English | Français
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter


Facebook

1978 Summer Programme participants

History

The Shastri Institute has been instrumental in building understanding, respect and goodwill between our two great countries for the last forty years.

The idea of an Institute to promote scholarly activity between India and Canada was first conceived by Michael Brecher, a Political Science Professor at McGill University. In 1966, Brecher informally broached the idea to the visiting Indian Finance Minister T. T. Krishnamachari who immediately replied that it was a “splendid idea.” In 1967 a joint announcement of the Government of Canada and the Government of India, gave birth to the Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute.

Initially, our focus was to encourage University level Canadian teaching and research on India. With an emphasis on the humanities and social sciences, our programs funded fellowships and distributed Indian books and journals to the libraries of its Canadian member institutions. The growing interest in India Studies among Canadian academics led to a reciprocal interest in Canada among Indian scholars. In the early 1980s, we began to promote Canadian Studies in India. More recently, our activities have broadened further into the field of development studies and sustainability.

Today, the Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute maintains offices in Canada and India. Our Canada office is located on the premises of the University of Calgary, which are provided to us at no cost by the University’s Board of Governors. Our India Office is located in central New Delhi and was built by Canadian Government funds on land provided by the Government of India.

Marching to His Own Beat
Marching to His Own Beat

When he flew to Delhi in the summer of 2005 Abbas Janmohamed was making his first trip to India, but in many ways he was catching up with an old friend he’d left behind. Continue...

More Profiles